Wait (Psalm 130)

Posted: 4 April 2014 in Ramblings

Predawn-water

1Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord!
2O Lord, hear my voice!
Let your ears be attentive
to the voice of my pleas for mercy!

How many times have I held this passage close? How many times in the last decade have I quietly cried out to God, pleading that the wait be over? Every time the dawn was approaching; the dawn that I thought would bring good news to my ears, there was silence. Seemingly an answer of “no.” Or maybe just “not yet” ? My first, southern-raised response is “what have I done to cause you, O God, to turn away?” Yet, my training, Scripture and the ever present Holy Spirit remind me that He has not forsaken me. He only asks me to wait. Longer.

3If you, O Lord, should mark iniquities,
O Lord, who could stand?
4But with you there is forgiveness,
that you may be feared.

I am a worm. An undeserving sinner who has struggled with anger and angst regarding those who seemingly want only to thwart the path which was laid out before me what seems now so long ago. Thanks be to God, I have been given the strength to overcome those sins of anger, yet there are other sins which just won’t go away. If it were up to me….I would surely die a miserable death…over and over and over again. Yet, just as I have forgiven the sins which have been [unwittingly?] committed against me, my sins have been forgiven me by my Lord Jesus Christ. I know this because that voice which speaks from the Word reassures me. He reassures me not only of the forgiveness of my sins, but that my wait is almost over. Almost.

5I wait for the Lord, my soul waits,
and in his word I hope;
6my soul waits for the Lord
more than watchmen for the morning,
more than watchmen for the morning.

As a military man, I know what it feels like to wait for the morning. During that wait, the watchman quietly thinks of events of the previous day and night. And he anticipates the future in the pre-dawn haze. Think on your life for a moment. Think of those events which mark what has made you who you are. Especially those which you were required to wait for. Even those events that would have the length of the wait determined by others. You knew what the result was going to be not by intellectual thought, not by educated reasoning and not because science explained when the wait would be over. You just knew. And you anticipated the end of the wait so much that you related every thought to what would happen after the wait was over. Yet…you were still waiting for the dawn. As do I.

7O Israel, hope in the Lord!
For with the Lord there is steadfast love,
and with him is plentiful redemption.
8And he will redeem Israel
from all his iniquities.

Israel of old were the people of God. Just like each and every congregation of the Church are exactly that. God’s people. Many struggle with things which cause them to wait. Sometimes it’s internal finances. Sometimes administrative actions of their local leaders. Sometimes it is the decisions of people whom they don’t even know. Still …. they wait. During this wait their anticipation, their collective anger and angst can become unbearable. Yet, I would suggest they hold these words of the psalmist close. Pray on them at every opportunity. The love which God has for you is immeasurable. His promised redemption, o congregation, is just over the horizon. He has and will continue to pronounce your absolution at every dawn. Not only has He redeemed you from your iniquities with the blood of the Lamb, He has also given you an ever present Shepherd. Eventually…soon…the one whom He has called into your midst as His under shepherd will be given the opportunity to respond. Your wait will be over. And so will mine. Thanks be to God the Father, who with God the Son and God the Holy Spirit hear our cries for mercy…and answers them.

In Jesus most Holy Name.
Amen +

Leave a Reply

