God Meant it for Good

Posted: 20 October 2013 in Ramblings

Coat-ManyColorsSitting here watching a wonderful teaching video by Rev. Ernie Lassman (Messiah-Seattle, WA). Pastor Lassman is giving a correct, yet paraphrased story of Joseph as a means to illustrate the Genesis 50:20 textual quote of Joseph to his brothers: “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.”

Tears in my eyes as I hear this lesson as parallel to my situation as well as that of my ordained brothers’ who are awaiting their return into a parish call. My goal of entering into the OHM was not my idea or any others’ who presently walk this planet, but rather that of the One whom I have been called to follow. St Paul tells me in Romans 5:3-5: “…we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

Therefore, I struggle to live by St Paul’s words of Colossians 4:2-4: “Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. At the same time, pray also for us, that God may open to us a door for the word, to declare the mystery of Christ, on account of which I am in prison— that I may make it clear, which is how I ought to speak.”

I pray that one day soon, those who lord it over decisions I am not privy to would see themselves as they read the words of our Savior recorded in Mark 10:42: “You know that those who are considered rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones exercise authority over them…” as well as Father Luther’s words in Part III-Article X of the Smalcald Articles. Perhaps they too might be brought to tears and see their proper role of ‘enabling’ those of us who seek only the Holy Will of the One whom has called us all into His Grace and service.

Lord, have mercy. Amen

NOTE: Oddly, I  posted this to  FB on 20 October before I considered posting it here.  Unfortunately, I  have not  been able to post any of this year’s sermons, perhaps that will change in the  not  too distant future.  God’s peace to everyone.

Leave a Reply

